I guess I won’t be a trail runner…

So I ran Heart Mountain the 4th of July:
image

Apparently I’m not so great at trail running because I missed the trail that went to the top, doh! I got about half way up, and not knowing that there was more than one trail, I took the path to the right and got separated from the group I was with. In my defense I didn’t even see the other trail because it was completely overgrown with plants. When I made it back to that point I saw another group walking up, but I had already ran an extra 2 or more miles and I needed to get home. Bummer. Still it was an awesome workout, and I felt more fatigued than a half marathon, and I was definitely sweating more than a half.
image

image

image

image
image
I didn’t take my garmin because I knew this would not be about time. But I was running, well where I could run, for about 2 hours. This was technically my first trail run. I’ve done a lot of hiking in my lifetime, which I love, but I’ve never ran up a mountain. My plan was to keep my breathing under control, so I ended up doing a lot of walking up the steep parts, and then I would cruise the flat parts. Downhill is my favorite, if you couldn’t tell from all the races I’ve chosen:) It is really hard for me to go slow down a hill, and my ankles and knees felt it the next day. I had so much achenes vs. soreness. I did however have the worst shin splits I’ve had in a long time.
So I guess I will at least plan on hiking to the top. I can see this mountain everyday so at some point I’m getting to the top of the darn thing:)
The rest of our fourth was great, we went on a RZR ride, and saw Devil’s canyon. If you ever want a perfect place to go boating, this is it.
image
image
image
It looks really mucky, but it has 70 miles of river you can take your boat down. It also has some great cliff jumping, that is still on my bucket list to do! We finished the night off with a BBQ and fireworks in the rain. Which I didn’t take one picture of..so I’m going to have to steal from my friend when she downloads hers. Hope everyone had a great Independence Day!

One thought on “I guess I won’t be a trail runner…

Leave a Reply

