Fear Not; Only Believe

“The Lord who calmed the tempest is still in control, and the future is bright, not fearsome.”

boston

I just can’t stop thinking about what happened today in Boston, and how my heart breaks for the victims of this senseless crime. My family, friends, and my babies have been at a finish line waiting to cheer for me to cross that line. It can be so scary to raise children in an uncertain world.
My son who is getting older is now constantly asking questions about hurricanes and tornadoes. He fears them. When I see the fear in his eyes, I know I have to be strong even though I know something like that could happen. I tell him it will be ok, and that natural disasters most likely won’t happen where we live, but we know what to do if it does.
Won’t I don’t tell him is what I really do fear: Him walking to school or playing outside and getting kidnapped. One of his peers taking a gun to school and opening fire. Or later in life when he has a driver’s licence and he is out there on the road with all the drunk drivers.
These thoughts are inevitable for any parent I would assume. Today I found comfort in this talk by President Gordon B. Hinckley-Fear Not; Only Believe.  Here are two great points that I loved:

  • “Believe in the Lord Jesus Christ, the Son of God who condescended to come into the world to save mankind. He is our Savior and our Redeemer. He was the Son of a mortal mother and a divine, Eternal Father. In His name we pray. Through His atoning sacrifice we obtain forgiveness for our sins. We have the assurance of the Resurrection, and if we walk in His ways after His pattern, we will have the opportunity of exaltation.”
  • “Believe in goodness, my dear young friends. There is so much of evil in this world. It seems to be everywhere—in television, in books, in magazines, in videos……..Believe in goodness. In the midst of great evil, there is so much of good to be found in the world. It is your responsibility to follow the right. “Choose the right when a choice is placed before you” (Hymns, no. 239). There is something wonderful and uplifting that comes from believing in goodness and beauty and truth.

I know there is still so much goodness in the world, and I have to teach and show my children that. I hope they do not fear. I hope they can grow up carefree and happy. I hope they can see they goodness in people and be forgiving of the bad. My thoughts and prayer are with the people of Boston tonight.

 

 

Leave a Reply

