6 miler and Utah Valley Marathon…

Well I signed up for my second marathon and I’m a little freaked out. I really though I would be one and done with the whole marathon thing, but my first marathon did not go as I had hoped. I know I can do better than I did and I hope to prove that to myself. (I will have to post the whole story later) So I decided I’m going to attempt the Utah Valley Marathon and I’m pretty excited about the actual run. It is beautiful. It is down a canyon that I am very familiar with and it has awesome views. Here is the elevation break down:

new-marathon-elevation-chart

I’m going to have to incorporate some hills in my work out, because I know there is going to be a little bit of climbing even though the elevation is mainly coming down. The most I have run so far is 10 miles so I feel like I have a little bit of a head start:) If you want to sign up for this race use discount code zionsrunuvm it will save you 15% until March 20th.

On Saturday I ran 10 miles..on the treadmill…pure torture. My allergies have been killing me and the wind does not help. I put my spring wreath up today so I hope it attracts some nice weather:

spring wreath

Today I ran 6 miles and it went like this:

6 miler

1.5 slow 9:30 average pace

3 miles at 7.8

.5 miles at 7.3 with a 1% incline

.5 miles at 7.0 with a 2% incline

.5 miles at 6.7 with a 3% incline

Total 6 miles. And yes I could have run a little faster but I’m trying not to kill my body. I hope to gradually speed up on an incline but I hate running uphill because it kills my shins. We are also running sprints tomorrow so this was a nice and easy run for me. Check back tomorrow because I will be posting some IT band strengthening moves.

Leave a Reply

