Flexibility Friday

One of the main reasons I think I didn’t get injured training for my first marathon was doing weekly yoga. I would typically do yoga the day before my long runs, and I could tell I was getting more flexible. I got out of the habit of doing that and I really need to jump back on that train. So I’m hoping every Friday I can make time for yoga, and skip out on running.

Here is a quick video I did today, and this would be a good one to do even after a long run or hard workout, because it is not very long:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i5HQjgUOrKk

Flexibilty is often a forgotten part of fitness. I am in no way flexible and never have been and it is something I really need to work on. I looked up a couple of flexiblity tests, and here is a modified one you can do at home:

http://www.adultfitnesstest.org/testInstructions/flexibility/sitandreach.aspx

Yeah I was able to reach a whole 17 inches haha. 40 percentile, not good!

Leave a Reply

