Saturday’s Run and Rewards

I always like to do a long, hard workout on Saturday. It’s a habit that I’ve had for a long time. (Maybe because I know I’m going to be lying around and being lazy on Sunday:)) However, my foot has been bugging me so I decided to take it slow on the treadmill. I started off really slow but my foot felt fine so I ended up running 8 miles in a little over an hour. I’m probably going to run a lot fewer miles and take it easy so this foot thing doesn’t turn into something bigger. I finished with some pull ups, triceps dips and abs.

Later that day I went on a mommy daughter date with our daughter to spend some one-on-one time with her. We got our nails painted and some ice cream. It got me thinking about rewards. I, along with so many others, often have the mindset that because I burnt so many calories I now get to splurge and eat whatever I want. It is a habit that I am trying to break. Growing up I had great metabolism, and still do however it is not the same as when I was 16. I’m not able to eat anything and everything I want. Instead, I have to use moderation and workout to maintain my weight. Sigh, getting older sucks!

So here are some of my favorite non-treat rewards:
Pedicures
New Clothes-I might also add that I pair of jeans in the size you want to be is great motivation towards weight loss goals.
New Shoes
Massage
Facial
New songs from itunes for your workout playlists
Movie tickets
Money Jar-Save up a little bit at a time for something bigger when you have reached your long-term goals.
Hair cut

I’m sure the list could go on and on. In addition to changing my own habits I am trying to instil good habits in my children. By not rewarding them treats regularly. I found myself with my first child bribing him to eat his food with a cookie. Now I try to make treats an occasional thing and not a daily extra meal after dinner. Here are some pictures from our date on Saturday:)
hotpink silly mommydaughter girlygirl
bree

Leave a Reply

